

ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS

To: Principals

From:

Alex L. Szachnowicz, P.E

Chief Operating Officer

Subject: Asbestos Notifications

Date: June 1, 2020

Instructions:

Copies to: Senior Staff

In accordance with the Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA), Anne Arundel County Public Schools (AACPS) is required to publish the following annual notification. Please ensure that this information is disseminated to your members.

In October 1986, the U.S. Congress enacted AHERA. Under this law, comprehensive regulations were developed to manage asbestos containing materials in public schools. These regulations mandate that school systems identify friable and non-friable asbestos, develop a management plan, and implement necessary response actions. The program for meeting these responsibilities is outlined in the management plan.

All personnel working in an AACPS facility are instructed to: (1) review the management plan prior to performing any work, and (2) not disturb asbestos containing materials. Only accredited, licensed asbestos professionals can perform asbestos-related activities.

The management plan contains information from previous inspections, response actions, post-response action activities, and surveillance actions planned or in progress. This plan is located in the main office of each facility.

For buildings completed after October 12, 1988, our management plan consists of the exclusion documentation including this notification. This documentation indicates that to our knowledge, no asbestos-containing building materials were used or specified in the construction of these buildings. These schools are as follows:

Annapolis Elementary Arnold Elementary Belle Grove Elementary Benfield Elementary Brooklyn Park Middle

Carrie Weedon Early Education Ctr

Crofton Elementary Crofton High

Crofton Meadows Elementary Davidsonville Elementary

Deale Elementary

Ferndale Early Education Center Folger McKinsey Elementary

Freetown Elementary Fort Smallwood Elementary George Cromwell Elementary Germantown Elementary Glendale Elementary Hebron-Harman Elementary

High Point Elementary Jacobsville Elementary Jessup Elementary Lake Shore Elementary Lothian Elementary Manor View Elementary Marley Elementary Marley Middle Mayo Elementary Meade Heights Elementary

Meade Middle Mills-Parole Elementary

Nantucket Elementary Northeast High Overlook Elementary Park Elementary

Pasadena Elementary Pershing Hill Elementary Phoenix Academy

Piney Orchard Elementary Point Pleasant Elementary Richard Henry Lee Elementary

Ridgeway Elementary Rolling Knolls Elementary Ruth Parker Eason Special Seven Oaks Elementary Severna Park High Severna Park Middle

Shipley's Choice Elementary

Solley Elementary Southgate Elementary South Shore Elementary Southern Middle Tracey's Elementary

West Annapolis Elementary Windsor Farm Elementary

The AHERA regulation requires notification of the availability of each management plan to Parent Teacher Associations' presidents, labor/collective bargaining unit organization presidents, and the general public. The notification was also published in the Capital Gazette and Baltimore Sun newspapers.

School specific management plans are available in each school's administrative office for review. All school plans are available for review in the Facilities Division, located at 9034 Fort Smallwood Road, Pasadena, MD 21122-3223. Five (5) working days notification is required to access these plans.

Questions about AHERA or your management plan should be addressed to Mr. C. Thomas Leary, Asbestos Program Manager, at 443-770-5913.

ALS/CTL/js Attachment AHERA\Annual-Notification

ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS NOTIFICATION

OF AVAILABILITY OF ASBESTOS MANAGEMENT PLANS

On October 22, 1986, the United States Congress enacted the Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act (AHERA). The final rule, published October 30, 1987, requires all public and private elementary and secondary schools to address various asbestos issues including inspections, development of management plans, notifications, training, operations and maintenance activities, response action, post-response action activities, reinspections and periodic surveillance activities that are planned or are in progress.

The Anne Arundel County Public Schools' asbestos management program has been structured to fulfill the AHERA requirements. A management plan developed for each facility outlines our program and AHERA compliance activities. All personnel who work in an Anne Arundel County Public Schools facility are instructed to: (1) review the management plan prior to performing work, and (2) not disturb asbestos containing materials. Accredited, licensed asbestos abatement professionals will perform all asbestos-related abatement activities.

For buildings completed after October 12, 1988, our management plan consists of the exclusion documentation including this notification. This documentation indicates that to our knowledge, no asbestoscontaining building materials were used or specified in the construction of these buildings. These schools are as follows:

Annapolis Elementary
Arnold Elementary
Belle Grove Elementary
Benfield Elementary
Brooklyn Park Middle

Carrie Weedon Early Education Ctr

Crofton Elementary
Crofton High

Crofton Meadows Elementary Davidsonville Elementary

Deale Elementary

Ferndale Early Education Center Folger McKinsey Elementary

Forger McKinsey Elementary
Freetown Elementary
Fort Smallwood Elementary
George Cromwell Elementary
Germantown Elementary
Glendale Elementary
Hebron-Harman Elementary

High Point Elementary
Jacobsville Elementary
Jessup Elementary
Lake Shore Elementary
Lothian Elementary
Manor View Elementary
Marley Elementary

Marley Middle Mayo Elementary Meade Heights Elementary

Meade Middle

Mills-Parole Elementary Nantucket Elementary Northeast High Overlook Elementary Park Elementary

Park Elementary
Pasadena Elementary
Pershing Hill Elementary

Phoenix Academy

Piney Orchard Elementary Point Pleasant Elementary Richard Henry Lee Elementary

Ridgeway Elementary Rolling Knolls Elementary Ruth Parker Eason Special Seven Oaks Elementary Severna Park High Severna Park Middle

Shipley's Choice Elementary

Solley Elementary
Southgate Elementary
South Shore Elementary
Southern Middle
Tracey's Elementary
West Annapolis Elementary

Windsor Farm Elementary

School specific management plans are available in each school's administrative office for review. All school plans are available for review in the Facilities Division, located at 9034 Fort Smallwood Road, Pasadena, MD 21122-3223. Five (5) working days notification is required to access these plans.

If you have any questions regarding the Anne Arundel County Public Schools' asbestos management program, please contact Mr. C. Thomas Leary, Asbestos Program Manager, at 443-770-5913, by email cleary@aacps.org, or by mail at the above address.

Anne Arundel County Public Schools prohibits discrimination in matters affecting employment or in providing access to programs on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, sexual orientation, or disability unrelated in nature and extent so as to reasonably preclude performance. For more information, contact the Office of Investigations, Anne Arundel County Public Schools, 2644 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland 21401, (410)255-5286; TDD (410)222-5500. www.aacps.org.