The Annearrundell County Free School is a living history classroom, a museum and repository for education artifacts, and a place for interested citizens to study the history of public education since its beginnings in the 1700’s.
It is a unique historical treasure that is believed to be the oldest existing building which once served as a free school that was mandated by a colonial government and supported by public funds. Its continuous operation as a school is believed to have occurred circa 1724 until just after the Civil War.
It is perhaps the only surviving schoolhouse as the result of the Maryland Free School Act of 1723.
The Free School operates as a living history museum operated under the all-volunteer auspices of the Anne Arundel Retired School Personnel Association (AARSPA). AARSPA's mission is to inspire future generations of students and educators by telling the story of The Free School, and using its history as a teachable moment that highlights the importance of a free, public education for all.
Thanks to all who came to the
Family Fun Festival!
Kids went back to school, back in time, at Maryland's oldest one room schoolhouse, featuring:
- Schoolteachers dressed like 18th-century teachers.
- Making authentic arts & crafts.
- Playing "no-tech" games of the time period including jacks, marbles, quoits, mystic sticks, cup-and-ball and hoop & stick.
The festival also features docent tours, storytelling and American colonial-era refreshments such as ginger cookies, shortbread and cider.
HOSTED BY: Anne Arundel Retired School Personnel Association (AARSPA)
Building Location: The community of Lavall off Rutland Road about one-half mile from Route 450, Defense Highway.