

Anne Arundel County Public Schools STEM Students of Excellence Awards Ceremony

Honoring Graduating Seniors Who Exemplify STEM Student Excellence and the K–12 Teachers Who Inspired Them



Wednesday, April 3, 2024 | 7:00-8:30 pm | Lindale Middle School Auditorium

"Do the research. Ask questions. Find someone doing what you are interested in! Be curious!"

~ Katherine Johnson

Mathematician and NASA Scientist whose calculations were critical to the success of the first U.S. crewed spaceflights and numerous projects thereafter—Johnson was a Presidential Medal of Freedom honoree in 2015 and a Congressional Gold Medal recipient in 2019.

"The best way to predict the future is to invent it."

~ Alan Kay

Computer scientist and winner of the A. M. Turing Award for his contributions to object-oriented programming languages and personal computing



STEM Awards Ceremony

Opening Remarks

Mark T. Bedell, Ed.D. Superintendent of Schools

••• Part I •••

Students & Teachers of Excellence Awards

Keynote Address

Abigail Ward, USNA, Class of 2024 STEM Alumna, Old Mill Middle South and Northeast High School

••• Part II •••

Students & Teachers of Excellence Awards

Closing Ceremony Remarks

Photo Opportunities

STEM Awards Keynote Speaker



Abigail Ward

Abigail Ward grew up in Pasadena, MD and attended the Old Mill Middle South STEM Magnet Program beginning in 6th grade. Her love of science and technology continued to grow during her middle school years where she founded a Girls in STEM club and established a school greenhouse based on work she accomplished in her STEM Changemaker project. Ms. Ward continued her STEM studies at Northeast High School and was recognized as their school's STEM Student of Excellence Awardee in 2020. She is currently studying Computer Science at the United States Naval Academy with a minor in Chinese; she specializes in Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence. Abigail is a USNA 2024 Stamps Scholar and was selected to spend a semester abroad in Taiwan engaged in intensive Chinese language study. A recipient of the Rhodes Scholarship, after her May 2024 USNA graduation, Ms. Ward will attend Oxford University and pursue an MSc in the Social Science of the Internet. Afterwards, she will serve in the U.S. Navy as a member of the Information Warfare Community.

Stamps Scholars Program

The Stamps Scholars Program was founded by E. Roe Stamps and his late wife Penny in 2006, with the purpose of enabling extraordinary educational experiences for extraordinary students. Today, it is an internationally prestigious scholarship program and community that helps exceptional students become meaningful leaders throughout society.

Rhodes Scholarship Program

The Rhodes Scholarship is the oldest (first awarded in 1902) international scholarship programme, enabling outstanding young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. Each year 32 young students from the United States are selected as Rhodes Scholars. These scholars are chosen not only for their outstanding scholarly achievements, but for their character, commitment to others and to the common good, and for their potential for leadership in whatever domains their careers may lead.

STEM Students and Teachers of Excellence

Student Awardees and the teachers they have chosen to honor

| Student Awardee | Honored Teacher |
|--------------------------|---|
| Reagan Parker | Sebastian Serrano |
| Annapolis HS | Physics, River Hill HS |
| Caitlin Finkbeiner | Dr. Gary Van Essen |
| Arundel HS | Statistics, Arundel HS |
| Samuel Landon | John Schiller |
| Broadneck HS | Physics, Broadneck HS |
| Logan Spranger | Sarah Skinner |
| CAT North | Agricultural Sciences, CAT-North |
| Zoie Prandy | Christopher Jacobs |
| CAT South | Interactive Media Production, CAT-South |
| Amir Walton-Irvin | Malieka Walton |
| Chesapeake HS | Math, Chesapeake Bay Middle |
| Alexander Moulton | Dr. Jules Ngangmeni |
| Chesapeake Science Point | Physics & Math, Jefferson Houston HS |
| Kaylin Vincent | Jennifer McLeran |
| Crofton HS | Technology Education PLTW, Crofton HS |
| Indu Bodala | Stacie Errico |
| Glen Burnie HS | Chemistry and Bio Sciences PLTW, CECOM, US Army |
| Elijah Wesley | Christine Crisostomo |
| Meade HS | IB Chemistry, Meade HS |
| Subhashi Pradhan | Brian Turkett |
| North County HS | Physics & Astronomy STEM, North County HS |
| Emily Sawyer | Tully Fenner |
| Northeast HS | Bio Sciences PLTW, Northeast HS |
| Jesse Slingluff | Hannah McVey |
| Old Mill HS | Science, Chesapeake Bay Middle |
| Renee Flowers | Tiffany Harris |
| Phoenix Academy | Social Studies, Phoenix Academy |
| Kiran Spencer | Jeanine Cosh |
| Severna Park HS | Physics, Severna Park HS |
| Sara M. Hollenbach | Kevin McCoy |
| South River HS | Math, South River HS |
| Kaitlyn Kruemmel | Kristin Larney |
| Southern HS | Environmental Science & Marine Biology, Southern HS |
| Nicholas Haight | Paula Perry |
| Virtual Academy | Math, Virtual Academy |
| · · · · · | |

Thank you for joining us to celebrate AACPS STEM excellence with our STEM student and teacher awardees this evening.

Please enjoy time socializing and taking pictures with your family and friends following the ceremony.

Please visit the AACPS STEM website for photos taken tonight by AACPS staff.

Photos available April 15, 2024 at www.aacps.org/stem

Special Thanks to the following groups for bringing tonight's STEM Awards Ceremony to life for our awardees and guests:

South River High School String Ensemble Performances SRHS students under the direction of Mr. Jerry Cavanaugh

STEM Awardee Photos and Videos Mr. Louis Nesbitt, AACPS Business & Development Specialist

> Ceremony Photography and Program Design AACPS Design & Print Office Staff

> > Ceremony Venue Support Lindale Staff

Ceremony Organization and Management STEM Site-Based Coordinators and Department Chairs, Magnet Specialist, AACPS Business & Development staff, Advanced Studies & Programs and STEM Office staff



"Every moment in life, every opportunity is a choice to innovate and have an impact."

~ Dr. Frances Colón

Senior director for International Climate Policy at American Progress, member of the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine Roundtable on Science and Technology for Sustainability, Co-chair of the Academies' Global Science Diplomacy Roundtable

"The walls between art and engineering exist only in our minds."

~ Theo Jansen

Dutch kinetic sculptor who fuses art and engineering as he animates large structures, works at the intersection of creativity and engineering design— Jansen studied Physics at the Delft University of Technology.



Mark T. Bedell, Ed.D. Superintendent of Schools

Mary Tillar Assistant Superintendent, Division of Advanced Studies & Programs

> Kevin Hamlin, Ph.D. Director, Advanced Studies & Programs

> > Maureen McMahon, Ph.D. Coordinator, STEM Program





Programs of Choice

