

BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY EQUITY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES February 28, 2023 APPROVED

The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County Equity Committee met virtually on the above date at 3:02 p.m. Committee Chair, Zachary McGrath opened the meeting. Committee members, Michelle Corkadel and Joanna Tobin were in attendance. Melissa Ellis was absent. Staff members present were Monique Jackson, Deputy Superintendent of Student and School Support; Maisha Gillins, Equity and Accelerated Student Achievement; Katara West, Equity Specialist; Ada Carter, Principal at Brock Bridge ES; Latica Hicks, Member of CAC, Mary Ann Ebong, SEAT Student Ambassador; and Diane Howell, Executive Assistant to the Board.

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. McGrath called the meeting to order at 3:02PM.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES: The meeting minutes of January 30, 2023 were approved by consensus.

MONTHLY STUDENT RECOGNITION: Mr. McGrath reviewed the committee the idea (proposed by Ms. Corkadel) of recognizing students during Board meetings and what type of process and screening could the committee recommend so that this is done equitably. Ms. West sent a recommendation for the committee to consider regarding how to nominate a student and ensure that equity is being put into action. She included four areas that students must do in order to qualify as a candidate. The committee agreed with her recommendation. The committee discussed who would be tasked with reviewing the nomination forms and selecting a student each month. Ms. Howell suggested the SEAT Ambassadors so that students are at the core of this recognition.

STUDENT MORAL/HONOR CODE: Mr. McGrath discussed the possibility of an Honor Code or a Moral Code for students. Dr. Tobin suggested this idea be presented to the Superintendent of Schools and allow AACPS staff to seek clarification of the idea from Mr. McGrath. Ms. Ebong included the encouragement to join clubs and add to sometimes difficult conversations (bridge the disconnect between AP/Honors/Standard level students).

GOOD OF THE ORDER:

ADJOURN: The committee adjourned at 3:42 p.m.