

BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY EQUITY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES June 28, 2022 APPROVED

The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County Equity Committee met virtually on the above date at 11:30AM. Committee Chair Bunmi Omisore opened the meeting. Committee member Joanna Tobin was also in attendance.

Staff members present were Maisha Gillins, Equity and Accelerated Student Achievement, Bob Mosier, Chief Communications Officer, and Jackie Money, Associate Assistant to the Board.

<u>CALL TO ORDER:</u> Ms. Omisore called the meeting to order at 11:36 a.m.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM MAY 10, 2022: The minutes from May 10, 2022 were not approved as there were only two Board members in attendance.

LOOKING AHEAD TO 2022-2023: Ms. Omisore spoke to the members about what she thought were the three main concerns to focus on in the 2022-2023 school year. Start times, returning to in person, and the new Superintendent. Dr. Tobin agreed that these three areas of concern should be the focus of the Equity Committee moving forward. Mr. Mosier suggested using the term "School Hours Shift" rather than "New Start Times" in the interest of equity. Ms. Omisore agreed.

TRANSITION OF CHAIR: Ms. Omisore recommended Zachary McGrath as the new Equity chair once he is sworn in as the 49th student board member on July 1, 2022. Dr. Tobin agreed with Ms. Omisore's recommendation and informed the members that she plans to reach out to Zach about chairing the committee.

GOOD OF THE ORDER: Ms. Omisore took this opportunity to extend her gratitude and let the members know what an honor it has been to chair the Equity Committee.

ADJOURN: The committee adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Approved: September 27, 2022

Joanna Bache Tobin, Ph.D. Robert A. Silkworth Gloria D. Dent Corine Frank Melissa K. Ellis Dana Schallheim Michelle L. Corkadel Bunmi Omisore
President Vice President Student Member