## BOARD OF EDUCATION OF ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY EQUITY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES September 19, 2023 APPROVED

The Board of Education of Anne Arundel County Equity Committee met virtually on the above date at 3:02 p.m. Committee Chair, Eric Lin opened the meeting. Committee members, Dana Schallheim and Michelle Corkadel, were in attendance. Ms. Frank was unable to attend. Staff members present were Monique Jackson, Deputy Superintendent; Maisha Gillins, Chief Equity and Innovation Officer; Katara West, Equity Specialist; Rodney Walker, Principal at Brooklyn Park ES; Bob Mosier, Chief Communications Officer; and Diane Howell, Executive Assistant to the Board.

**CALL TO ORDER:** Mr. Lin called the meeting to order at 3:02 p.m.

**APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES:** The meeting minutes of June 20, were approved by consensus.

## **GOALS FOR THE 2023-2024 SCHOOL YEAR:**

DEFINE EQUITY - The committee agreed that the committee would use the state definition.

HOW DO WE CREATE A SENSE OF BELONGING FOR ALL STUDENTS – Ms. Corkadel suggested that the committee review all the initiates that are working currently and see if any improvements can be made. Utilize budget opportunities to keep, reduce, and/or delete initiatives. Ensure that professional developments are advanced for leadership. Ms. West suggested ensuring student voice is heard, create a climate where students can share their prospective, and utilize the SEAT ambassadors. Mr. Walker recommended that elementary school-aged students be included and that it does not always need to be in a formal setting but can happen anywhere and at any time. Mr. Lin asked what is currently being done to include student voice in AACPS? Ms. Jackson will include examples at our next meeting.

INCREASING WORKFORCE DIVERSITY – AACPS provided a workforce diversity presentation at the March 8, 2023, Board meeting, Ms. Howell shared the presentation with Mr. Lin for his knowledge as a new Board member.

**GOOD OF THE ORDER:** Gather suggestions about how to include student voice and report back, include feedback from the MABE Annual Conference.

**ADJOURN:** The committee adjourned at 3:48 p.m.

Approved: May 21, 2024

Joanna Bache Tobin, Ph.D. Robert A. Silkworth Gloria D. Dent Corine Frank Melissa K. Ellis Dana Schallheim Michelle L. Corkadel Eric Lin
President Vice President Student Memb