ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD APPOINTMENT COMMISSION MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 27, 2017

The Anne Arundel County School Board Appointment Commission convened at 7:00 p.m. on the above date at the school board administration building, 2644 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland. Commission members present and their affiliations were as follows: Susannah Kipke, Chair of the Commission, Anne Arundel County Executive appointment; Allison Pickard, Vice Chair of the Commission, County Council of PTAs appointment; Ginger Vance, Secretary of the Commission, Anne Arundel Chamber of Commerce; Leanne Carmona, Special Education Citizen Advisory Committee; Jerry Klasmeier, Anne Arundel Community College; Dr. Linda Ferrara, Association of Educational Leaders; Josie Urrea, Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils; Estefania Holler, County Council of PTAs; Melanie Graw, Central Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Jacqueline Boone Allsup, Anne Arundel NAACP; Amalie Brandenburg, Anne Arundel County Executive appointment; and Bill Jones, Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County. Nathaly Uribe, CASA de Maryland was absent.

Staff members present were Bob Mosier, Chief Communications Officer, Anne Arundel County Public Schools; and Molly Connolly, Executive Assistant to the Board of Education.

Mrs. Kipke opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance. Ms. Allsup moved to approve the minutes of November 14, 2017. Mrs. Pickard seconded and the Commission approved (12-0). It was noted that this evening the Commission will vote to fill the vacancy of the District 32 seat on the Board of Education. The two candidates are Mr. Foster Driver of Glen Burnie and Ms. Cheri Lynn Thornton-Conner of Severn. Mrs. Kipke reviewed the voting procedures, noting that a candidate must receive 8 votes for an appointment to the Board of Education.

Public Comment: J.H. Snider spoke to the Commission members about the process to appoint school board members.

Commission members engaged in five rounds of voting, with neither of the two candidates garnering the 8 votes required to be appointed to the Board of Education.

Mr. Jones moved that the Commission suspend the voting and reopen the application process. Mrs. Pickard seconded and the Commission voted (8-4), Mrs. Pickard, Ms. Carmona, Dr. Ferrara, Ms. Urrea, Ms. Holler, Mrs. Graw, Ms. Allsup, and Mr. Jones voted in favor; Mrs. Kipke, Mr. Klasmeier, Ms. Vance and Ms. Brandenburg opposed. The motion passes.

Discussion ensued on a timeline for reopening the application process. Mrs. Brandenburg moved that the Commission reopen the application process in January, with candidate interviews to be conducted in February. Ms. Kipke seconded and the Commission voted (4-8), Ms. Brandenburg, Mr. Klasmeier, Ms. Vance and Mrs. Kipke in favor; Mr. Jones, Mrs. Pickard, Ms. Carmona, Ms. Holler, Ms. Allsup, Ms. Graw, Dr. Ferrara, and Ms. Urrea opposed. The motion fails.

Mrs. Pickard moved to reopen the application process this week, for a period of 30 days, ending January 5, 2018. Ms. Allsup seconded and the Commission voted (9-3), Mrs. Pickard, Mr. Jones, Ms. Carmona, Ms. Holler, Dr. Ferrara, Mr. Klasmeier, Ms. Urrea, Ms. Allsup, and Ms. Graw in favor; Ms. Vance, Mrs. Kipke and Ms. Brandenburg opposed. The motion passes.

Mrs. Pickard moved that the Commission amend "Article III: Offices", paragraph 2 of its By-Laws by striking the phrase "But shall not provide legal advice to the Commission." Therefore, the amended sentence shall read, "AACPS staff shall serve as staff to the Commission. AACPS shall be the custodian of the Commission's records." Dr. Ferrara seconded and the Commission approved (12-0).

Ms. Vance moved to adjourn. Ms. Allsup seconded and the Commission adjourned at 7:45 p.m.

Approved January 31, 2018