## ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD APPOINTMENT COMMISSION MINUTES OF JANUARY 31, 2018

The Anne Arundel County School Board Appointment Commission convened at 7:00 p.m. on the above date at the school board administration building, 2644 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland. Commission members present and their affiliations were as follows: Susannah Kipke, Chair of the Commission, and Anne Arundel County Executive appointment; Allison Pickard, Vice Chair of the Commission and County Council of PTAs appointment; Leanne Carmona, Special Education Citizen Advisory Committee; Jerry Klasmeier, Anne Arundel Community College Board of Trustees; Dr. Linda Ferrara, Association of Educational Leaders; Josie Urrea, Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils; Estefania Holler, County Council of PTAs; Penny Cantwell, Central Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Jacqueline Boone Allsup, Anne Arundel NAACP; Amalie Brandenburg, County Executive appointment; and Bill Jones, Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County. Ginger Vance, Anne Arundel Chamber of Commerce; and Nathaly Uribe, CASA de Maryland, were absent.

Staff members present were Bob Mosier, Chief Communications Officer, Anne Arundel County Public Schools; and Molly Connolly, Executive Assistant to the Board of Education.

Mrs. Kipke opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance. Ms. Cantwell moved to approve the minutes of November 27, 2017. Mr. Jones seconded and the Commission approved (11-0). Mrs. Kipke reviewed the interview process, noting that candidates will have up to three minutes for an opening statement and each commissioner will have up to three minutes to question each candidate. If candidates would like to elaborate on or communicate something for which they may not have had time during their interview, the Commission will accept statements until 4 p.m. on February 7, 2018. Mrs. Kipke then provided a detailed voting process in which the Commission will engage on February 14, 2018 when an appointment will be made.

Commissioners interviewed four candidates: Alyson Kwon of Hanover, Sun Kwon of Hanover, Brenda Schwaab of Linthicum, and Sidney Butcher of Hanover.

The Commission adjourned at 9:10 p.m.

(Approved February 14, 2018)