ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD APPOINTMENT COMMISSION MINUTES OF OCTOBER 29, 2018

The Anne Arundel County School Board Appointment Commission convened at 7:00 p.m. on the above date at the school board administration building, 2644 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland. Commission members present and their affiliations were as follows: Susannah Kipke, Chair of the Commission, and Anne Arundel County Executive appointment; Natalie Uribe Robledo, CASA de Maryland; Vanessa Rivera, County Council of PTAs; Chris Barber, Central Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Lisa Shore, County Council of PTAs; Jerry Klasmeier, Anne Arundel Community College; Linda Ferrara, Association of Educational Leaders; Bill Jones, Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County; Corine Frank, County Executive appointment; Anthony Liberatori, Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils; and Samantha Carter, Special Education Citizen Advisory Committee. Jacqueline Boone Allsup, NAACP was absent due to travel. The Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce had not selected a representative as of this meeting.

Staff members present were Bob Mosier, Chief Communications Officer, Anne Arundel County Public Schools; and Molly Connolly, Executive Assistant to the Board of Education.

Mrs. Kipke opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance. She announced details of the interview process, noting that each candidate is allotted three minutes for an opening statement and three minutes to answer each question posed. She asked if there were any changes to the February 14, 2018 minutes of which there were none. The minutes were passed by consensus.

Ms. Frank moved to approve the agenda. Dr. Ferrara seconded and the Commission approved (11-0). The agenda stands as published.

Mrs. Kipke noted that the Commission's former Vice Chair is no longer on the Commission. Therefore, a new Vice Chair needs to be appointed. Dr. Ferrara expressed an interest in serving. Mr. Jones moved to appoint Dr. Ferrara as Vice Chair. Mrs. Shore seconded and the Commission approved (11-0). Mrs. Kipke said that the role of the Secretary of the Commission is primarily performed by the Board Assistant. She asked if the Commission would be willing to leave the position of Secretary open temporarily. Mrs. Shore moved to leave the position open. Mr. Jones seconded and the Commission approved (11-0).

The following candidates were interviewed: Regina Miles of Annapolis; Jessica Quincosa of Riva; Robert Leib of Harwood; and Raymond Leone of Edgewater. The interview of Kathleen McQuade, originally scheduled for October 29, 2018, was moved to November 1, 2018, due to illness.

Mrs. Kipke asked if there is any public comment on tonight's proceedings, of which there were none. Dr. Ferrara moved to adjourn. Mrs. Shore seconded, and the Commission approved (11-0).

Adjourn: 9:30 p.m.

Approved November 1, 2018