## ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD APPOINTMENT COMMISSION MINUTES OF NOVEMBER 1, 2018

The Anne Arundel County School Board Appointment Commission convened at 7:00 p.m. on the above date at the school board administration building, 2644 Riva Road, Annapolis, Maryland. Commission members present and their affiliations were as follows: Susannah Kipke, Chair of the Commission, and Anne Arundel County Executive appointment; Dr. Linda Ferrara, Vice Chair, and representing the Association of Educational Leaders; Nathaly Uribe, CASA de Maryland; Vanessa Rivera, Anne Arundel County Council of PTAs; Chris Barber, Central Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Lisa Shore, Anne Arundel County Council of PTAs; Jerry Klasmeier, Anne Arundel Community College; Corine Frank, County Executive appointment; Jacqueline Boone Allsup, NAACP; Anthony Liberatori, Chesapeake Regional Association of Student Councils; and Samantha Carter, Special Education Citizen Advisory Committee. Bill Jones, Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County was absent. The Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce has not selected a representative as of this meeting. Staff present: Molly Connolly, Executive Assistant to the Board of Education.

Mrs. Kipke opened the meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance. She announced details of the interview process, noting that each candidate is allotted three minutes for an opening statement and three minutes to answer each question posed. She asked if there were any changes to the agenda of which there were none. Mrs. Shore moved to approve the minutes of October 29, 2018. Dr. Ferrara seconded and the Board approved (11-0).

The following candidates were interviewed by Commission members: James Schneider, Jeffrey Macris, Mohammed Hussain, and Erin Snell. Kathleen McQuade, originally scheduled for October 29, 2018, and rescheduled for November 1, 2018, was unable to attend due to family illness.

Public Comment: The following individuals spoke in support of Mr. Hussain: Rudwan Aburumman, President of the Anne Arundel County Muslim Council; Usman Chaudhry of Davidsonville; Venice Alexander of Odenton; Zaryab Chaudhry; Mamadou Thioune of Crofton; Amara Chaudhry of Davidsonville; and Muhammad A. Khalid of Glen Burnie.

The Commission adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Approved November 19, 2018